Since most information about culture and history can be found on the internet, museum are not needed anymore.

Museums are often considered as a beautiful reflection of a country’s glorious past. As the internet can provide a gigantic treasure of information about a nation‘s history and culture, museums are being tagged as unnecessary these days. I do not agree with this view. In my opinion, museums should be preserved as a sign of heritage since data on the internet cannot match the true essence of actual visual experience. To begin with, art galleries and museums house the cultural and traditional assets of any nation. Some of these are in the shape of sculptures; some are in the form of paintings. Several museums have preserved ancient things which are a sign of pride and prestige for the nation and its citizen. The information provided on the internet does not create the same amount of curiosity and inquisitiveness among people as the actual visualisation of these things at the museum. Therefore, rather than sidelining the requirement of conserving museums, these must be refurbished to garner the attention of maximum people. Concomitantly, museums are places of tourist attraction. These places fascinate locals as well as foreign tourists alike. Although museums have nominal entry fees, still it contributes to the revenue of a nation, eventually, giving an economic boost to a country. This will be affected if people are encouraged to view information about culture and history online. In addition to that, information on the internet can sometimes be dubious as there are a number of unauthentic sites and it becomes tough to keep a check on what is being uploaded online. Any incorrect story can seriously impact the country’s reputation; hence, efforts must be made to save the integrity of museums. To conclude, a nation’s historical and cultural treasures abound in museums and art galleries; therefore, these must be maintained and any knowledge available online should be only for reference purposes.