In many countries, women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring.

Today's world is witnessing a change in perception of traditional roles of both men and women. More and more modern females worldwide choose to remain unmarried. Some people argue that the lack of economic incentive to marry is the reason why women prefer to stay single, which I consider to be partially true. Apart from the money factor, I believe that contemporary females are choosing personal interests over family, opting for building careers, studying, or romantic freedom. First, women nowadays may prefer to stay single or postpone getting married because of immersing themselves in getting a degree or switching a career. The western world has seen plenty of cases when females in their thirties become students once again, enrolling in programs of their dreams. It is highly likely that determination to succeed education-wise does not allow for nurturing a baby and doing household chores. It is certainly felt as though females of the twenty-first century, being fully aware of the opportunities available, refuse to deny themselves exciting educational prospects. Second, modern women find themselves under less pressure to start a family, while having more freedom in their romantic choices. Mass media has had a significant impact on relationships between a man and a woman. In particular, TV shows like Sex and the City, provide strong, confident women as role models for our generation. It seems, therefore, that the idea of settling down, unlike continuous dating, does not appeal to young females. Thus, women’s priorities are shifting from tying the knot to short-term relationships, self-development, and conversing with peers. In conclusion, women’s attitude towards marriage has obviously transformed due to many factors, one of them being financial autonomy. Yet, the current social reality implies that females provide for themselves, commit themselves to their hobbies, and no longer define themselves as wives only. All the above inevitably leads to women fighting for their rights and acquiring more independence.