Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth and resources among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizen themselves?

The world economy today is a complex juxtaposition of wealthier nations on one hand and not so wealthy on the other. The developed western countries seem to be living in a futuristic era while the rest of the world is caught in medieval mindsets and technologies. This enormous gap cannot be bridged without co-operation from both sides of the divide. This essay outlines two perspectives from diametrically opposite angles. Wealthy economies must understand that in today's heavily interconnected world; they cannot prosper in an isolated manner. An Ebola outbreak in Liberia, for example, is as much of a threat to the people in Europe or America, thanks to modern day travelling, as it is to rest of the world. And so it becomes an obligation on richer countries to provide the affected areas not only short-term aid like health expertise but also to help with better food and education in order for those countries to handle and control future outbreaks. So as seen from above example, rich nations ought to help others in providing better access to food, education, healthcare etc. On the contrary, though, the countries on receiving the end of such an aid should strive to become independent by the day. For instance, it is not possible to feed 1. 3 billion people solely on foreign aid. The Indian government has to come out with policies to promote innovation in agriculture so as to be able to be self-sufficient eventually. So as seen from the above, developing nations have an equal obligation to try and stand on their own feet. To summarise, it is impossible to close that gigantic valley between the rich and poor countries without mutual effort from both the parties. It is hoped that we forget those artificial international borders and tackle this problem as a humanity to create an egalitarian world where no child is starved and no student is deprived of education.