Should a city try to preserve its old, historic building or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? What is your viewpoint on this issue?

There are many common issues, such as traffic jam, air pollution, unemployment, et al, which most cities are sharing these days. Metropolises: Istanbul, Rome, Napoli, London, Madrid, Paris, etc. , also have to deal with historic and antique constructions on top of those issues. Engineers assert old, historic buildings have to be demolished in terms of safety standards; however, the metropolises’ authorities preserve the buildings for certain reasons. Historic and old buildings can be devastating in case of emergency situations. According to WHO (World Health Organization) statistics, relatively more people die in earthquakes in Napoli than in Japanese cities despite the same magnitude of the cataclysm and density of residents in the cities. This discrepancy occurs due to the fact that there are significantly more old buildings in Napoli, whereas most architecture are modern and correspond to safety standards in Japanese cities. Moreover, old buildings have substantially less occupancy capacity than modern ones, although they cover the same field, historic mansions can even spread to more area, as modern constructions. Therefore, a city should substitute antique architecture for newer ones in order to reside its increasing population. Thus, it seems there are more reasons to destroy than to keep all old and historic buildings due to fragility and lack of residence capacity. Nevertheless, cities’ authorities preserve old and historic architecture in terms of heritage, tourism, and business. Some cities are recognized by their ancient architecture inherited from ancestors. For instance, Istanbul cannot be mixed up with other cities due to its unique architecture, mostly by mosques and temples built hundreds years ago. Also, cities with ancient constructions are attracted by millions of tourists all over the world. Rome, for example, is visited by nearly 5 million tourists who seek the spirit of ancient Roman Empire and contemplate antique Roman architecture. Lastly, old, historic buildings are a profitable opportunity for construction companies. Thousands of historic buildings are closed for refurbishment yearly to renovate and strengthen constructions. Old, historic buildings are our heritage, therefore, it is imperative that they be preserved since new technologies allow to reinforce them to withstand against natural cataclysms.