Shopping is the favourite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities?

Some believe the past does not illuminate the present, whereas others say it is vital to know history to be able to understand the current times. Throughout this essay I will discuss both sides and give my opinion, which favours of the latter view. Supporters of the former opinion argue that events that happened in the past are irrelevant for today’s developments and events. This is because the essential topics of the globe are constantly changing due to past industrial development and continued technological breakthroughs. Therefore, looking for answers by observing the past would not provide us with answers for today. As an example, the daily struggles of a stone age man and those of a man from the new millennium are not similar: while one is trying to discover new ways to hunt a deer, the other is facing modern city life problems such as air pollution. However, examining the past provides human beings with an advanced knowledge on varied issues where human emotions and their basic necessities are involved. Since the beginning of time, individuals have shared common concerns and thoughts, such as having a shelter and maintaining good conditions for their life, even though the definition of these things may change depending on the era. For example, having shelter in one era meant having a cage, but now this definition stands for a flat or a house. Despite that, the core issues have remained the same. Therefore, understanding the past will provide light for the new roads ahead for humanity. To conclude, although history at many levels is not relevant with what is happening now in the world, since a great number of things have already been changed, I believe that it is vital to learn the past, as human beings are still sharing many common grounds with their ancestors such as feelings and the fundamental needs of life.