Nowadays shopping has become a new favourite pastime for young people. What are the reasons for this? should they be encouraged to develop other hobbies?

People’s approach toward hobbies is changing dramatically. At present, shopping as a hobby is becoming popular, especially in youngsters. Indeed, shopping outlet’s services and lucrative offers are playing a key to pursue shopping as a hobby. However, shopping as a hobby is supposed not only for needless shopping but also expected of waste of time of individuals. Nowadays shopping has become a new favorite pastime for young peopleTo begin with, there are numerous reasons why people are choosing shopping as a leisure activity. Firstly, nowadays shopping malls offer various services which are attracting people enormously. Facilities like children’s play section, café, and restaurants can be used for recreational activities. For instance, a recent report reveals that the majority of youngsters are more likely to acquire shopping as a leisure activity because of stores and shopping outlets are providing myriad services where they can easily spend their time. Secondly, commercial and in-person shopping are offering lucrative discounts all over the year; therefore, in order to acquire these products at low prices, people always observe these sites and stores. Consequently, they develop shopping as a hobby by engaging lots of time in this approach. Nevertheless, shopping is becoming an enriching hobby for many individuals; it is also increasing the needless shopping. It is generally true that frequent visit at shopping stores can compel people to buy things which are not in use for them in general. Unnecessary shopping affects people’s income, but companies are benefitted with this activity. Apart from that, many people experienced shopping as a hobby is a waste of time because they considered that without purchasing any single item from shops by regular visiting can lead to time consuming activity. Furthermore, as shopping hobby does not play an active role in the development of human beings as other activity such as reading books that increases the knowledge of people, thus other hobbies should be promoted. To sum up, hobbies vary from time to time and nowadays shopping is gaining vast popularity. People especially youngster choose shopping as a hobby because of various reasons such store’s services and attractive deals. However, it is considered that shopping as a hobby has not positive outcomes as compared to other activities so people should be encouraged to pursue other hobbies instead of shopping.