shopping is one of the most popular form of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Being overweight is a common problem among all age groups, especially in children residing in Australia. Some people see this as a responsibility of schools to monitor the diet and exercise of their pupils. I, however do not entirely believe that it is the sole responsibility of schools to look after the health of their students. This responsibility should be shared among parents and educational institutions equally. Schools have been the centre of early childhood learning in many developed countries and therefore, are considered to nurture good habits within a child studying in these institutions. In regards to eating healthy and being conscious about their fitness, it is expected of schools to provide initial guidance to students to take care of their health. In reality, educational centres have been less concerned about delivering such lessons that can help kids make healthy eating choices. As a result, as many as two thirds of children are now obese in Australia. However, schools cannot be entirely held responsible for overlooking eating and fitness habits of their students, parents hold and equal if not greater responsibility of guiding their children to make better decisions. They can teach them how to read and understand food labels and nutritional information provided on top of food packaging. They can also guide them to eat less processed food which is heavy with saturated fats. These practices can surely help the younger generation to make an informed decision on what they are consuming. In conclusion, I believe that schools cannot be held entirely responsible for overseeing the eating and fitness routines of their students. This responsibility also falls on the shoulder of the parents to inform and have a discussion on the benefits of a healthy lifestyle. This will help them 0to stay well informed about their dietary consumptions and will stop them from getting overweight.