shopping is one of the most popular form of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

These days, especially youngsters, find shopping as an appealing spare-time activity. In my viewpoint, it is effective development as it significantly contributes to the economic growth of a country through revenue generation and advertisement. To embark with, in recent years, because of globalization, a vast variety of consumer goods such as flagship mobile phones, branded clothes and perfumes are available in the markets. This has increased the proportion of young people spending major portion of their time shopping. Since tax is included in the price of every product, the more people shop, the more is the government’s income. The fund then can be allocated to build infrastructures, such as roads and tourist resorts, to attract foreigners. As a result, additional money can be earned and make a nation financially and economically stronger. Moreover, attractive discounts and seasonal offers in many outlets and shopping malls, especially during winter and summer holidays, entice young ones to purchase products. These not only assist companies finish their existing stock and add new products but also give an opportunity for people to save money on expensive items. For instance, last month I purchased Levis jeans worth 100 dollars at a 50 discount. I could never have purchased this product at its normal price. Thus, sales increases a company’s revenue and productivity which, in turn, raise the GDP of the country. In conclusion, young adults spare their leisure time in shopping and, in my opinion, this has a positive impact on financial progress of country since it helps the government to generate revenue and increase the output by advertising campaign.