Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages while others believe that would be a waste of money

People' s opinion as to whether or not governments should allocate public money in saving languages that are spoken by very small number of people.  I will discuss both views but personally, I believe that the it is necessary for the governments to support these languages. On the one hand, it is often believed that investing in saving these languages is a waste of money because there are more important things that are worth being taken care of, such as education or environment. For example, in many developing countries like Vietnam, an average of 50 students are jammed into a classroom, which would be difficult for a teacher to take good care for all of them. As regards environmental problems, pollution is a real challenge for most of the developing countries. For instance, worse air quality in Hanoi is the main cause of many disease relating to lungs. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that endangered languages should be preserved in order to maintain culture diversity. Languages are backbone of a region as they probably represent culture identity. If they disappear, the distinctiveness of that culture will be lose, reducing culture diversity. Furthermore, a number of ancient documents are written in rare languages. Losing a language means that less chance for scientists to discover and decode these documents. In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that protect uncommon languages is beneficial as they allow us to preserve culture identity as well as ancient documents.