Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

In recent decades, spending the national budget on preserving minority languages has become a topic of discussion as those languages are on the verge of extinction. Although some might oppose this idea due to its seemingly insignificant benefits, this is the most appropriate use of government money. There have been many good reasons why preserving minority languages would be a waste of money. First, since there are few people speaking endangered languages these days, preserving those languages may result in little benefit. In fact, those speaking minority languages would face many difficulties in interacting with people from different cultures, which potentially undermines the preservation. In addition, since these languages are only spoken by small communities, educational programs and facilities needed to encourage people to learn them would be prohibitively expensive. In fact, this money might be better spent on other public services, which contributes more to the society. However, there are certain reasons why minority languages should be preserved. First, languages spoken by ethnic minority people and their cultural identity are closely related. For example, the ways in which the minorities use their languages would reflect their belief systems, values, and assumptions. In addition, if endangered languages were not preserved, the traditional values would likely be compromised, as languages are vitally important parts of a culture. Therefore, protecting those languages will ensure the existence of the intangible values and traditional customs of the minorities, thereby maintaining cultural diversity. In conclusion, even though saving minority languages initially appears insignificant, the efforts to preserve those languages offer many advantages overall. By focus government spending on language preservation, the cultural heritage will be greatly benefited.