Some people think it is better for children to grow up in the city, while others think that life in the countryside is more suitable. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both places?

Nowadays, parents have become more sensitive towards the environment in which they want to bring up their child. Some people think that cities are the best place for their children to grow up while others think it is the countryside. Both the sides have advantages and disadvantages with respect to the education, exposure and well being of the children which are discussed in the upcoming paragraphs On the one hand, cities provide access to good quality education, a variety of places to learn such as libraries, museums, art galleries, workshops etc. and hence it will greatly help in developing the cognitive capabilities of the children. Yet, because of the rapid urbanisation, the per capita space for the city dwellers is shrinking day by day and the children hardly get enough space to play and explore outdoors. Also, pollution is major problem in cities which leads to respiratory problems in children. For example, a recent study in Delhi, the most polluted city in the world, shows that more than forty percent of the children suffer from asthma and other lung diseases. This shows that the parents need to think of providing a cleaner environment for their children. On the other hand, the countryside offers a calm and relaxed way of life for children. They do not have to be under constant pressure to learn new things. While the countryside is full of beautiful scenic places, lots of open space for the children to play and to be close to the nature, clean and fresh air, they have little to offer on the basic facilities such as schools, colleges and transportation. This leads to children not being exposed to the competitive world and hence they struggle when they have to compete with the children from cities for higher education. In conclusion, although cities have all the resources for a good upbringing, a combination of other factors affect the mental and the physical well being of the children. The countryside, because of the lack of facilities make the children less competitive. A solution to this problem would be to create semi-urban places which offers the same facilities as a city, at the same time, provides a clean environment as in countryside.