Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

It is true that some languages are currently on the verge of extinction. One school of thought suggests that governments should allocate some budget to preserve these languages, while others and I believe that such attempts are a waste of money. There are several reasons why some endangered languages are considered not worth saving. Firstly, the cost of saving languages will certainly cost a large amount of money and a few people particularly can get benefit from them. Consequently, it leads the growth of financial burden on its nation. Therefore, governments should invest more funds to other important matters including, education, public transport and health because they can certainly save many lives. Moreover, it might be ineffective even if government makes a lot of effort for saving less widely languages. The lack of willingness to study for a reason, it might be impractical for them. I believe that, the government should not encourage people to learn language if they not willing to. Thus, they should focus on improving important sectors. However, a language is much more than simply a means of communication, behind the language itself, there is culture, custom and tradition related to it. If an endangered language become extinct, then it means that its cultural identity may disappear and also knowledge about its civilization remains unknown. By spending money on minority language preservation, a vast amount of cultural heritages can be saved in the meantime. In conclusion, while it is true that saving local languages is crucial for some people, in my opinion, it is more important for the government to invest in essential services like health and education.