Education should be accessible to people of all economic background. All level of education from primary school to tertiary education should be free.

Children are the backbone of the society and education should be available to them irrespective of their financial capabilities. Some believe that education to the level of University should be made free of cost. I partially agree with this thought and I believe that the authorities should definitely sponsor primary and secondary schooling, but not tertiary education. Access to basic studies should not be determined by one's monetary background. This is because, every child, independent of how much his parents earn, has a right to education in order to make himself self-sufficient in the future. The child of a street vendor, for instance, need not worry about the expense of availing basic knowledge and qualification and should be able to compete at par with others of his age at maturity. Thus, it is essential that the government provide for basic schooling for each and everyone and evoke a sense of equality amongst the citizens. Having said that, it may be a difficult task for the government to take up this responsibility beyond secondary schooling. A lot of fund allocation towards education sector may be required if even tertiary schooling fee is completely waived off. Besides, children coming from well-off families may also take advantage of such benefits, depleting government's resources. However, special scholarship programs or subsidies could be planned for the poor and needy in such situations. To sum up, it would be helpful for the downtrodden, if education to the level of professional qualification is subsidised. In conclusion, children coming from all strata of society deserve to be educated upto secondary schooling without worrying about expenses. However, beyond that government support may be extended only to a select few based on their needs.