Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by tiny numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

Some languages are in the phase of extinction due to the low population of the speakers. A group of people believe that governments should allocate some budget to preserve these languages, but others think that it would not be effective and efficient. The following essay will discuss both opinions, but I believe that maintaining the diversity of languages is an important thing. On the one hand, some people believe that spending public money for protecting minority languages is a waste of money and time. The cost of maintaining the languages would be expensive since, there are only a small number of people who speak the languages, and many young people would refuse in learning and speaking in these languages as well. They believe that the money could be allocated for other important matters such as education, public transport and health. On the other hand, many people believe that it is necessary for governments to preserve the existence of minority languages. Every nation has its own traditional languages which are spoken by their ancestor and descendants, and they have been passing through for many generations. There are a lot of myths, legends, traditional and cultural activities which are passing over to the next generation using these languages, as many tribes have no written literature. And if these languages do extinct, then it means that many nations will lose their precious historical cultures. Therefore it is important for governments to take some efforts in maintaining minority languages, though the cost of preserving them might be considered as expensive. In conclusion, it is a fact that several languages in the world are in the phase of extinction. Some people suggest that governments should provide some fund for preserving these languages since they are inherited from the ancestors. Others think that the act is a waste of money as it has not economic benefits. Though both views have their own positive sides, I personally believe that people should protect the diversity of languages.