One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of medicine has enabled people to live more years than previously and nowadays humans are expected to live a longer life. Even though people have not the same life expectancy in all countries, a remarkably trend to grow is perceived worldwide. To begin, this fact has already caused some interesting changes and I it is my belief that in the future will cause immense challenges. To start, it is stunning how science has succeeded and beaten the odds so that now has become possible for human race to live much longer than before. It is clear that the main advantage is that at present people live longer and better than in the past and they reach elder ages fitter and healthier thanks to proper medical care. Besides, quality of life has itself improved and the standards are significantly higher. Nevertheless, negative aspects are becoming more evident throughout the years and are required to be urgent handled. Based on the fact that people now live much longer than in the early years, the average age of inhabitants in most countries is higher. As a result, the population gets “old”, as it is commonly said, and it causes a chain of problems that were previously not expected. For instance, the worker force will be constituted by a lower percentage of the population and it will provoke the pension´s system to fail. Furthermore, resources in the Earth are becoming every day scarcer and if people live longer the number of humans living in the planet will as a consequence increase. In conclusion, even though there will be every day new challenges to resolve, I believe that this improvement is for the better and that human race will be substantially benefit from the progresses in medical care.