Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Over the last few years, numerous changes have been witnessed in the field of automobile progress. In fact, scientific experts predict that all the cars will be controlled by computer technologies. To my mind, this constitutes a harmful tendency owing to difficulties in responsibility assessment and matters of cyber security. To begin with, the question of the liability comprises the inalienable part of computer-driven automobiles. This means that in case of a car accident, it is enormously complicated to establish the guilty one. In terms of legal responsibility, the accused person theoretically could be a driver, an artificial intelligence or a company that created the computer. Eventually, this will breed numerous unresolved court cases, leading to unsanctioned car violations. Thus, I am certain that the trend of automobiles driven by computers will definitely result in countless auto accidents without any punishment. Another point to consider is that the computers which drive the cars are vulnerable to hacking attacks as any other software. There would be many thieves who eager to someone’s auto remotely. The cars driven by computers would provide frauds with such a possibility. The letters will not need to physically break into a auto or break its window in order to obtain access to pedals or a steering wheel. They could easily take control over the computer and the machine will go by itself. Some similar cases were identified with Tesla cars in the US in 2019. Hence, the computers’ control, in my view, may result in an increased risk of cyber attacks. To conclude, I am inclined to believe that cars driven by computers might harm our future. It is so, because, firstly, the complicated liability evaluation will leave many accidents unresolved and, secondly, the computer control systems will be affected by manifold hacking attacks.