Scientists and technlogy experts seem to be more valued by modern society than musicians and artists.

In the contemporary world, it is commonly believed that the value of scientists and engineers is much higher than people who obtained a degree in arts or music. I totally agree with this statement and the reasons for it will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, since the beginning of the 21st century, governments have been struggling with the lack of specialists in fields of electrical, computer and biological engineering because the young generation tends to believe that these majors are complicated and demands a lot of hard work. Due to this fact, more and more people began choosing humanitarian degrees like music, arts, law, and economics. In Kazakhstan, for example, there is a significant shortage of engineers which forced our government to hire overseas specialists. Increased number of scientists, at the same time, can help to discover new findings about global warming, cancerogenesis, and its treatment. Moreover, there is no doubt that global warming poses a significant risk not only for us but also for our future generations, since this fact, the number of scientists should be increased to solve such issues. A good example of it can be technological countries like Japan or South Korea that influenced their society and young minds to become scientists and currently they have already researched various diseases, world problems and found solutions for them. Because of this fact, now they are one of the leading researches not only in Asia but also all over the world. To conclude, from my point of view in spite of financing both musicians and artists, governments should invest solely in STEM majors for they will help to change and reshape our world in a better way.