Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree.

Science is making a headstrong progress at a rapid pace. Owing to this, the average life expectancy of humans will augment further, making people live up to 100 years or more. While this has been advocated as advantageous by some, others opine that this will have detrimental effects. In my opinion, this shift certainly will lead to issues such as overpopulation and depletion of natural resources. On the one hand, with the increase life expectancy, few masses consider that this will cater the needs of a family unit and allow them to stay connected. In other words, when people would be living longer, they would be able to spend quality time with their loved ones. This undoubtedly will strengthen the bonds between each other as elders of a family will stay together for a much longer tenure. Moreover, young children of the house will get patronage of their grandparents or even great-grandparents. Consequently, this will enable them to instill the moral and ethical values into their offspring. Therefore, this all will not only lead to sustenance of a healthy bond, but also will aid in overall development of young generation. On the other hand, others believe this prolonged life will prove to be deleterious, and I agree. Primarily, with the fall in mortality rate and continued rise in the birth rate, this will inevitably lead to overpopulation. Further, this will bring about numerous issues such as rapid depletion of useful resources. To put simply, with the elevated level of population, the consumption of these resources will ultimately amplify. Since such natural deposits are already in a scarce quantity, this will cause them to rapidly exhaust. For example, many countries are already facing situations such as droughts owing to paucity of fresh water. Indubitably, with the rise in population, serious issues would arise that would prove to be destructive. To conclude, although this life prolongevity would be beneficial for the families to develop in a healthy way, I personally believe that it would have more concerning issues such as rise in population, subsequently leading to serious problems, affecting our lives in a baneful manner.