Science will soon make it possible for people to live until 100 years, perhaps even to 200 years. Some people think that this would be a good thing. Others think that it would cause many problems.

In the near future scientists will extend the possibility of human survival up to 2 centuries. While some hold the opinion that this is a positive development, others believe it is a catastrophic one. This essay will discuss both these views followed by a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, many argue that a long life will come with many health repercussions. Owing to the fragility of the human body, it was only designed to sustain 70 or so years of life. Therefore, many health ramifications may arise such as heart disease, autoimmune diseases and infections. Which may affect older bodies on a larger scale, this is because, as we grow older our bodies become less equipped to dealing with disease because they lose essential cells and body functions that usually combat disease. For instance, the antibody ‘Human Leukotrine Factor 6’ decreased by 40% by the age of 45. This is an imperative bodily defense mechanism in dealing with foreign bodies, without it bodies are more susceptible to disease. However, being able to live up to 200 years is without a doubt an incredibly positive development. This is because those that have spent the early years of their life working and securing financial stability, who have missed out on developing their person relationships can now have a chance to do so with no distractions and interruptions. To exemplify, Human Timeline research conducted by Harvard University demonstrated that ‘a 60 year old male or female spend 60% of their lives working, 30% asleep and 10 percent for personal relations. ’ Prolonging human life gives us a chance to extend our personal relationships and deepen bonds. In conclusion, although there are many health complications that may arise from extending one’s life for so long, I believe they are worthwhile as people get to spend more time with their families and further explore their relationships and bonds.