In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree?

It is argued that states should charge fast food companies more tax because of the growing amount of men and women with health conditions associated with this type of food. This essay totally agrees with that statement because these illnesses cost the health service too much money and increasing the price of junk food would reduce the demand for it. Obesity-related illnesses cost the taxpayer billions of dollars every year. People who eat too much fast food are more likely to suffer from diseases, such as heart disease and diabetes. As a result, the have to go to the hospital more regularly for treatment and this puts a strain on the health service. For example, the United Kingdom’s Nation Health Service is expected to spend more than $2 billion on diabetes this year. Another reason why fast-food companies should pay extra tax is to raise the cost and decrease demand. Any extra tax would be added to the normal price of the food and as prices go up, fewer people will be able to afford to buy fatty food. Therefore, this would reduce the amount of junk food people are eating and the result would be a skinnier and healthier nation. For example, I used to smoke 20 cigarettes every day, but the government kept increasing the prices and now I can’t afford to smoke as much as I did. In conclusion, junk food should be taxed at a higher rate because of the health risks it poses and the fact that the increased cost should reduce the amount of fast food people buy.