Science can now offer people a life expectancy of close to one hundred years or even more. Some people view it in a positive light, but others believe it creates some problems.

The rapid advances in science and technology have made possible in the extension of life span of human being. While some persons deem it advantageous, others are worried about the negative consequences that it could bring in. From my perspective, I support the former notion. The increase in life expectancy means there is going to be rocketing progress in the field of science and technology. In other words, the rate of advancement in the scientific discoveries and invention will increase dramatically in the coming decades. This is because all the current scientist can live longer and can therefore use their skills, talents, and experience for a long period of time, which can result in the more fascinating inventions than what we are witnessing now. For instance, if Einstien had not died in his 40s, he would have certainly discovered the mystery of this universe by his 100s. Nonetheless, some people are concerned about the detrimental effects of increment in life span. Their main worry is about the impact of this on the environment. The logic behind is that longer life expectancy increases the population by fivefold within a decade; consequently, this would create chaos everywhere on the planet. For example, there would be traffic congestion everywhere; moreover, rising vehicle number would emit more greenhouse gases which would further contribute in worsening the issues of global warming. This nightmare scenario would definitely convert our planet into lifeless. In conclusion, notwithstanding the concern of some people who think that increasing the living period of human would bring chaos on the earth, I believe that it brings good opportunity for the rapid advancements in the field of science and technology as researchers, engineers and scientists can use their expertise for longer period.