Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.

Traditional subjects such as history are a prime focus of study in schools and a fraction of people believe that more time should be invested in teaching students the skill to secure a job once they graduate. In my opinion, a balance between soft skills and traditional subjects should be maintained as they are both essential for a student’s future. History is an important subject as it teaches students the political and military struggle of the country’s forefathers. Moreover, it teaches the students about the traditions and culture of a society. Once they are able to learn these lessons, they can adopt them in their lives. In addition to that, history highlights the mistakes of those who came before us and allows us to rectify those blunders so that they are not repeated. Despite having certain advantages, it does not directly help students in securing a job. Corporate and Industrial sector looks for a specific set of skills in students that can help them excel in their careers in reputed companies. Firstly, they require people who are confident and have good communication skills. Furthermore, they also seek time management and leadership skills that can help the students in adapting to the corporate environment. However, spending too much time on traditional subjects deprive the students of learning these valuable skills, therefore, it is vital that schools develop a curriculum that maintains an equal proportion of technical subjects, traditional courses and soft skills. Students should be engaged in public speaking, debates and group discussions where they are able to learn the soft skills required for securing jobs. In conclusion, history is an important subject which should be taught in schools; however, it does not help students in the real world where soft skills are required to get a job. Therefore, schools should introduce activities that can develop these skills while reducing the time spent on teaching traditional subjects.