Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.

Nowadays at the elemantary and secondary level, educational institutes still follow the old syllabus where they concentrate on imparting children with knowledge of areas like history. A number of individuals are of the opinion that this should change now. Kids should rather be taught skills of the modern era which would help them get hired. This essay shall cover the merits of both these opinions. Firstly, every lesson offers something to learn from. For instance, History helps them learn about human behaviours including mistakes and lessons. An example to this is that many kingdoms have fallen due to the leaders diverting from their goal. The Moghul downturn began when their concentration went on to living a luxurious life rather than on issues of the public and their economy. As individuals, if we concentrate more on the same instead of our job requirements, we too are destined for failure. However, expectations of employers are very different these days and school syllabus should incorporate these. To elaborate this point, I would say that understanding of how the internet works or basic marketing terms is not enough anymore. Before entering the job market, you should have a good know-how of how digital marketing works. For instance, how to post ad's on Facebook or how to write a blog. These skills are essential to keep up with the changing needs of work. In conclusion, I would say that in my opinion, striking the right balance of traditional and modern skills is important. Institutes should educate children with just enough of both.