Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.

The proper curriculum for schools has become a matter of great concern as it directly influences the quality of education. Some people opine that academies should focus on job-oriented subjects that prepare pupils for a good career whereas others think that learners should be cognizant of their ancient path, tradition and heritage through learning arts and history besides their career preparation. This essay argues why it is necessary to emphasise on traditional subjects, which are just as important as employment-oriented skills. Many schools primarily concentrate on subjects that help students improve their skills and get ready for jobs. This is mainly due to the present competitive world where each one is struggling to be better than the other. So people assume that developing practical skills from a younger age will help students perform well in professional life. For instance, some schools in India have adopted certain subjects that focus mainly on attaining a medical degree and thereby become a better physician in the future. However, it is essential for students to learn history, arts and similar subjects along with the skill-oriented materials. Knowledge of culture and history allows student become leaders than becoming corporate robots. For instance, the contribution of an explorer, leader and social worker is no less than that of a doctor or an engineer. In conclusion, the primary objective of education is to prepare the young generation to build a better world through their diverse contributions, not just become money-making machines. This is why arts and history are as important as skill-related subjects are in the national education curriculum.