Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.

School curriculums may vary from school to school, but their primary objective is the same everywhere which is to educate and enlighten students. However, some people claim that school should focus more on job-oriented subjects rather than teaching traditional ones like arts and history. I personally disagree with this view and believe that traditional subjects are just as important as skill-oriented subjects are. To begin with, ‘job-oriented subject’ is itself an inexplicit term. Some would say that subjects that enhance practical skills like computing or gardening are job-oriented subjects, but no one can assure that all students in a class would become computer engineers and specialists in planting and gardening. That is why forcing pupils to study subjects that they do not feel interested in would bring negative results. Furthermore, schools are meant to nurture young students’ creativity, foster their talent to let them explore their true potential. From this perspective, imposing job-related subjects is like killing the inner soul of the future generation. Finally, if schools can bring diversity among students and inform them about different perspectives of life, the students would themselves choose their career and transcend in future. So there is no need to create a robotic generation with a particular skill only. Arts and history are as much important as any science and technical subjects are. The study of history empowers us to be prepared for the future and learn from our past mistakes. Similarly, arts and other traditional subjects allow us to learn to appreciate life. We revere Van Gauge and Leonardo da Vinci as much as we admire Sir Isaac Newton and Einstein. The world needs great artists and historians no less than it needs scientists and technicians. To conclude, schools should equally focus on traditional subjects and skill-oriented subjects and nurture students’ hidden potential to prepare the future generation to become leaders, not corporate slaves.