School teachers are more responsible for social and intellectual development of students than parents.

School teachers play a major role in a student’s social and intellectual development. After all, a large chunk of a student’s day is spent in school under the supervision and guidance of their teacher. But is it right to say that it exceeds a parent’s influence? Where I come from, there is an old saying that goes ‘A teacher is a prophet’. That is how valuable they are to society. A great deal of a person’s knowledge about the world comes from teachers, and it carries on with them from their formative years to the day they die. Take me for example, because of a lively and smart teacher who strived to make complex scientific concepts seem approachable and fun for his students, I am now a doctor who is as passionate about science and the universe as he was. My entire life’s course has changed because of one teacher and his influence on the young, impressionable me. However, to claim that teachers have a larger impact on students than parents do might be a bit of a stretch despite everything that I’ve just mentioned. When it comes down to influence, no one can match the effect parents have on their own children. They are the first ones a child knows and comes to trust. Before a child ever learns to speak, he has already soaked up a tremendous amount of little, unspoken social cues from his parents. They’re the ones that set their kids up on play dates and arrange sleepovers for them to make friends and get closer to them. A child will usually resemble one or both of their parents in mannerisms and social prowess. All in all, both parents and teachers play a tremendous role in a student’s overall development and not just the intellectual and social parts, and it is quite difficult to say which party has the larger share, or even where one’s role ends and another’s begins. The important takeaway here, in my opinion, is that both should not take their roles lightly as the slightest thing they can say or do may have a lifelong effect on a student’s life.