School teachers are more responsible for social and intellectual development of students than parents.

Teachers' roles are undoubtedly vital for the development of children, to the extent that some people may claim they are more important than the students' own parents. Even though I agree that educators play a major role in the pupils' intellectual and behavioral upbringing, I do not believe they could overtake the parents' place. School definitely has a huge influence on children, therefore, teachers would as well. Firstly, students spend about a third of their day at school, which in turn means that a child's time for interaction with the teacher may exceed that with parents. Also, a considerable number of parents usually come home late at night, well after their offsprings have gone to bed. They also could be exhausted after work, and that prevents them from spending quality time with their sons or daughters. Moreover, as students grow and move into the phase of rebelling against figures of authority, they are more likely to listen to a friendly tutor than a strict parent. On the other hand, parents posses advantages that teachers do not. For example, all children are more familiar with their parents than their teachers, since parents are a child's first safe zone. A parent is every toddlers first role model, friend, and care giver, so he or she does not need to put in much effort to influence their child. In addition to that, a teacher can never provide each student with enough attention, as the number of pupils in a single classroom requires more care than one person can give. While each family can only have so many offsprings, and thus, their needs are more likely to be met. In conclusion, school teachers and parents are both cornerstones to students' social and intellectual growth. However, I believe that parents take the lion's share in the raising of their son or daughter.