School leavers go travelling or working before they go directly to university. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is not uncommon for high school graduates go traveling or working for a period instead of attending college directly in this day and age. Actually this practice has both positive and negative impacts on those young graduates and in this essay I will analyse them and conclude my opinion. Traveling or working after leaving high school, which also refers to ' the gap year' , is prevalent among young graduates in many countries and it definitely has many merits. To begin with, teenagers can greatly widen their minds through traveling to different places. For example, in the long-distance journey abroad, they can gain more knowledge about exotic culture and fulfill themselves. Furthermore, traveling or working could cultivate their independence and improve their problem-solving abilities. As they have to face up to unpredictable problems on their journey or on their work. In addition, after the exercise of ' the gap year' , it can help young adults to set clear objectives, which benefits for their future career. However, despite the advantages of ' the gap year' , there are also some potential drawbacks of it that worths our carefully thinking. Firstly the safety should be taken into consideration, as teenagers have experienced less than their elders, they may lack sense of self-defense and this can cause some unimaginable problems on their journey. Besides, after their traveling or working for a period, some of them may find that they cannot easily readjust to the campus life. Some of them even consequently abandon their studying career, which may undermine their competence in society in the long run. Therefore, it is not appropriate for everyone to experience ' the gap year' , whether to do this should consider the graduates' specific situation. In conclusion, traveling or working after high school graduation has both advantages and disadvantages for the development of school leavers. Before they take actions, they should scrutinize that whether it is suitable for their own desires.