Multi-cultural society, where people of different ethnic groups live together, can bring more benefits than drawbacks to country.

With the process of globalization, it is not uncommon that a growing number of societies become multicultural. In my opinion, multiculturalism is beneficial to the development of the whole society. It is understandable that opponents of multiculturalism argue that this process will exert negative impacts on the social stability. To begin with, it will cause cultural invasion. This phenomenon is especially obvious in some developing countries, where there traditional culture is overwhelmed by those from developed countries and dominant cultures. Furthermore, ethnic conflicts often happen in multicultural regions. People in different backgrounds tend to be various in customs, religious beliefs and lifestyle, which may cause a rift between two or more groups. Finally, they argue that ethnic minorities are often discriminated in some countries and new immigrants find it is difficult to get accustomed to the new environment, which are potential threats to social harmony. Despite the fact that there are some drawbacks of multiculturalism, I will argue that it is positive for the society in many aspects. Firstly, multicultural society will greatly promote the prosperity of culture. Take the United States, the most typical cultural-diversified country as an example, its dominant culture can be attributed by its extent absorption of different cultures. Besides, it offers a wider range of perspectives on social issues. People from different backgrounds can learn each other, which makes the society more tolerant and creative. In addition, in terms of economy, multinational corporations whose employees are from different regions can be more effectively capture global markets, increase customer base across nations and earn more profits. Therefore, the economy will greatly develop and people’s living standard will improve as a consequence. In conclusion, while multi-cultural society has some disadvantages, people will enjoy more benefits from its merits in the long run.