Safety standards are important when building people's homes. Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes - the government or the people who build the houses.

There are many accidents claim thousands of lives related to a miscalculation in house construction in many countries. These accidents happen since there are no explicit rules of determining whose obligation is to impose construction safety standards; however, it has to be the government' s commitment as it has necessary resources and power. The government can enforce building codes in person of insurance companies. In many developed countries it is mandatory to insure properties, and in the event of damage to houses agencies compensate it. Consequently, to prevent the damage, happens mostly due to poor building standards, the government or its representatives should control the process of building since the beginning. Modern houses in Kazakhstan, for instance, are less likely to experience accidents due to the fact that the government monitors each building on safety standards by sending an inspector. This means of the enforcement, nevertheless, can be costly since the government has to employ a significant number of inspectors; this figure might be much more in countries where there is a building boom. The safety standards can be enforced by the law. There is a criminal responsibility for violation the standards in many countries. This is more efficient in terms of resources as the owners become responsible for both properties and criminal records. Canada, for example, sentences those who have failed to conduct proper safety standards while building the houses for a long time and fines a substantial amount of money. Thus, the method can be both effective and efficient as the government' s expenditure decreases on the inspectors, whereas, its income rises by fines. Safety standards in building houses are vital. Thus, it is significant that the government be responsible for enforcing the standards since it is likely to be the only copable institute.