Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. Comments about the task: 1. An opinion essay 2. You must say how much you agree or disagree Totally agree 1. Corruption 2. Bad economic policies

Countries that are richer usually give monetary donations to the less financially endowed ones, but this doesn't end poverty. The question of whether or not it is better to give other forms of assistance will be addressed in this essay. In my own view, I agree that poorer countries will benefit more when the richer country can encourage skills acquisition in a bid to end poverty. To begin with, the financial aid given by richer countries do not benefit the populace who needs them more. This is because, such funds are mismanaged by the leaders in these countries. According to an investigative survey carried out in two west African countries, it was noted that only about ten percent of such funds are actually utilized. A huge chunk of it, actually ended in private accounts of politicians. Therefore, it is entirely gainless for the bigger countries to continue to donate when their objective of ending poverty is not met. However, supporting skills acquisition among the citizens is a better alternative to financial aid. Instead of dishing out huge amounts of money, the economically better countries can build centres where skills such as information and communications technology can be acquired. Citizens can learn invaluable skills such as web development and design which are priceless in this present age. A recent article in the New York Times noted that many more leading economies are beginning to realize the essence of empowering the skill acquisition capabilities of developing countries as a better way to end poverty. I equally agree that this is good way out. In conclusion, mismanagement of monetary aid makes it unable to stop poverty. A better option is to empower the people instead. I therefore recommend that all financially robust countries embrace skill acquisition as a way out of poverty.