Research says more and more business training and business meetings taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The emergence of the fourth industrial revolution is parallel to the technological advancements that enable accessibility and flexibility. One obvious example is the movement towards conducting business sessions online. From my perspective, the advantages of this trend take more significance than the shortcomings that it entails. Regarding the benefits generated from this shift, one of the viable reasons cited by most people is the convenience of online business sessions. In particular, people are able to attend these meetings everywhere as long as they ensure a stable Internet connection; therefore, attendees can cut transportation costs. Simultaneously, if they cannot make it, they can watch the recorded seminar at another time and revise by themselves. Another bonus of business meetings conducted online is the efficiency they bring. By adapting technology into meetings, trainers, chairmen as well as employees can save time with practices such as faster documents distribution or note-taking. The platform that allows people to attend online business meetings is multifunctional, in which they can upload various sources ranging from videos of meetings to the contents of each seminar and even schedules for future discussions. There is some truth in the merits of this technology, but there is much to be said about the problems of it. Particularly, one may attribute decreasing work efficiency due to online distractions. Besides, some people may oppose to this trend by stating that some of them cannot afford technological devices or Internet connection for the requirement of online meetings. However, what they have failed to take into consideration is the providence of the company, regarding computers and wireless connection. Workers can go to their offices at any time for the online business discussions. Needless to say, these problems can all be tackled. All in all, the advantages of this movement clearly outweigh the predicaments it brings. Therefore, I strongly recommend this paper be taken into scrutiny in order to adopt suitable policies.