Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries.

In recent years, the issue of a ban on certain food products, which could be blamed for human health problems, has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this ban appears plausible, the advertising programs relating to these products should not be limited. On the one hand, the advertising programs should not be considered as a primary cause to the overeating. First, since fast food has gained in popularity in this day and age due to its convenience, people are more reliant on those foods, which might be conducive to overeating and obesity. In fact, plenty of evidence suggests that over-consumption of fast food contributes to the rate of obese people in some countries. Second, overeating can be attributed to the eating habit of those who are more reliant on fast foods. This means that excessive consumption of those foods is their decision because they have their rights to choose what they eat, which might lead to health problems, such as obesity. On the other hand, advertising programs about certain foods could bring a wide range of benefits. It is clear that customers could have more information and knowledge about the nutrient composition in those foods by watching advertising programs. For example, buyers could make a purchase of those foods, which ensures them to have adequate energy after using those. In addition, some fast food companies could fulfil their responsibilities to overeating after advertising their products. This means that they could earn more profits after doing advertising campaigns, which allows them to aid some organisations to raise the people’s awareness of overeating issue. In conclusion, the government should not impose a ban on advertising programs of certain food products. The government and individuals should cooperate to deal with overeating by raising public awareness of healthy balanced diets.