Recently, it is not common for people to know their neighbours. What is the cause of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

The way people interact each other has changed significantly in recent years. People used to have an intimate relationship with their neighbours in the past, however, it is becoming uncommon to socialise with them. This essay will aim to discuss the causes of the above mentioned issues and provide possible solutions. One of the reasons of this phenomenon can be correlated to changes in lifestyle. People had more time to spend on socialising with neighbours, supporting each other in case of an emergency. For example, people used to borrow ingredients from neighbours if they do not have enough to prepare a meal, or look after neighbours' children when one requires an assistance. However, this practice has been changed due to increased working hours and abundance of materials in modern society. People prefer to solve their own issues, rather than relying on neighbours, and avoid social interaction so that they can recover from stressful work. Thus, the modern lifestyle changed the pattern of socialisation among neighbours. Although people need less assistance from their neighbours owing to the abundance of goods, it is important to maintain a relationship to create a safe and friendly environment. To achieve this, some events should be organised so that local people can gather and get to know each other. For example, there are a few festivals across the year in my local community, which community members plan and carry out together. Within this process, local residents have an opportunity to interact with neighbours and an intimate relationship is promoted. While there are a variety of ways to solve this issue, organising local events is one of the ways to promote socialisation among neighbours. In conclusion, the level of social interaction has been decreased due to the busy lifestyle and people requiring less aid from others in this modern society. Nonetheless, a safe community environment requires some extent of relationships among local residents, and organising some social events is one way of solving this issue.