Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Recently, it is more evident that many people are learning foreign languages. The most common ones are English, French, Chinese and Spanish. Some of the population is of the view that an individual should only learn a new language, if he or she has plans of travelling or working abroad while others beg to differ. This is because of the reasons given below; Learning a foreign language should be done if the person doing it, wants to travel or work in that country, because it would help them with the day to day activities like looking for accommodation, food or shopping. In countries like China, foreigners who cannot speak Mandarin are cheated by merchants who choose to double the prices of goods, since they think the aliens will not be able to notice due to language barrier. On the other hand, being able to speak more than one language, even if one chooses to stay in ones home country might come in handy for certain jobs. Currently, most nations have people of various cultures and nationalities. Most foreigners would want to hire a translator who is a national of whatever country they are in, but speaks their language. Also, many companies these days choose to hire applicants who are multilingual compared to those who are not. I would want to conclude with my opinion. I think an individual should endeavor to learn more than two languages not only for them to travel or work abroad, but also to learn more about other cultures and tradition, because the world is becoming one small community, all owing to the internet.