Some people say that fairrily is the most powerful influence in a child's development. Other's say that other factors such as (television friends music etc. ) play a greater role today.

It is highly debated whether family or community has a greater impact on a child’s development. In my opinion, I strongly believe that community, including friends and superstars, nowadays have a much stronger influence on children compared to family, especially in the era of internet and social media. The belief that the society has a bigger role on children is based on the fact that children spend less time with their family compared to others. To elaborate more, children spend more than half of their day at school with teachers and schoolmates. Even at home, children nowadays spend most of their time on their electronic gadgets to chat with their friends or check their favorite idols or superstars on social media. Thus, if children have so much time interacting with their friends and looking after celebrities, it is reasonable to say that they have a greater impact compared to their parents. On the other hand, people believe that family, especially parents, still have the most important role in nurturing and socializing their kids. At the toddler stage, children are so much connected with their parent and they also see them as their role models. Children are not that exposed to the outer world; thus, parents play biggest role at this stage. Taking all factors into consideration, it would be fair to say that family plays a prominent role at an early stage of development, whereas friends and famous people tend to be more influential during their teen years. I contend that the latter stage is more critical in shaping one’s personality; hence, I tend to lean toward the belief that society has a greater role in the development of a child.