Recently, it is common for people not to know their neighbours. What is the cause for this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, many people are less interested in maintaining any friendly relation with their neighbours. The face to face interaction and the sense of brotherhood have been diminishing since the emergence of the sophisticated life and hi-tech culture. This essay will briefly look into some of its causes and suggest some solutions. Firstly, today’s young generations are well educated and they prefer to migrate to the metros for their livelihood because of this their neighbours are strangers to them. The majority of people do not show the interest to build a sudden relationship with strangers. Apart from this, the cultural and language difference is also a factor of concern when it comes to interaction among the neighbours. Moreover, people are so busy with their work schedule; most of them leave home early in the morning and reach late in the night so they generally do not have enough time to interact with the neighbours. Another reason is the addiction to electronic media. These days, many people spend much of their free time on social networking sites like Facebook and Instagram. However, this is an unhealthy development and may lead to various social and psychological problems. In order to tackle this, everyone should understand that their neighbours would be more helpful than their closest relatives in case of an emergency situation at their homes. People must reduce the usage of social media, which are full of virtual friends and should rather focus on building harmonious relation with their neighbours. People residing in metros should form some clubs to integrate with other people coming from the same state/region as they. In my own experience I have witnessed that in a funeral service in an apartment in a metro city there were hardly ten to fifteen people. Most of the neighbours in that housing colony were clueless about what happened in that home. To conclude, we should consider the fact that neighbours can be more helpful to us than our nearest relatives in certain situations and we must build good relation with them.