Recently, it is common for people not to know their neighbours. What is the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

It has been noted that nowadays, many people usually do not take note of their neighbours. Although there are so many reasons for this, solutions are also available. One major reason why people tend not to know their neighbours is the usual daily struggling to make ends meet. In other words, humans are becoming much engaged with their work/business, and most individuals do not work from home or nearby, thereby having little time to spend at home especially in the late hours. Furthermore, individuals now use their leave periods to travel out of their countries and spend quality times with their families. For example, it has been found that many Nigerians are currently leaving their homes to other countries with their families for summer holidays. Lastly, in some countries where there are many tribes and religions such as, Nigeria, individuals often avoid associations with others to avoid troubles and misunderstandings. Having stated the major causes, the best solutions to them would certainly start from the governments. Firstly, in nations with many tribal and religious differences, the governments should provide for all their citizens irrespective of what group they belong. This goes a long way in expressing the unity of the nation to them, thus, promoting unity within all neighbourhood. That said, law should also be made on the working hours of all companies/organisations to suit all workers, and by so doing create adequate space for good family interaction and other activities such as, visiting friends. Finally, residents should make it a point of duty to fix dates for yards and community meetings atleast once monthly whereby they talk about some worrying issues, and by so doing create avenue for knowing one another. In conclusion, it is unbecoming of nearby residents not to know themselves due to certain reasons, hence, all members of the society and the rulers have vital roles to play in providing solutions.