Recent research has shown that media like the Internet and TV have a greater influence over people’s lives than politicians.

There are modern investigations that have asserted that various forms of media such as World Wide Web and television have enormously affected individual’s perspectives. Although some might believe that government officials are more influential being in the society, it can be argued that broadcasted information in media generates bigger impact on their decisions. Primarily, government officials are those people who are more affluent and authoritative. They have wealth and power to manipulate people’s actions. There are some cases that people have been promised that the government will bring changes to the status of a country. Furthermore, elite lawmakers were also the one who propose legislations, which creates overall control of a society. As a result, citizens have left any choices but to oblige to the law. In contrast, there are also justifications that state that mass media has a higher influential contribution to the public. Firstly, the scope of information in multifarious forms of media is presumably broad. The information such as news, knowledge and updates are delivered instantly at people’s convenience. Secondly, these days, celebrities are now being used by media to advertise products, which are negligible among the crowd. Some arguments suggest that these successful people have the higher chance of persuasion because they are often being shown in various forms of media. In my opinion, I assert that mass media have changed people’s actions because of the diverse range of information it has. Indubitably, government officials have the prerogatives to undermine people because they hold the privilege to introduce legislations. However, some justifications state that people’s democratic rights can contradict the verdicts of the government in a form of appeal or revolution. To conclude, the influence of government leaders in a country is undeniable because of monetary advantages and bestowed powers, but the scope of messages in media and the collaboration of celebrities have a strong impact on people's lives.