Recent research has shown that media like the Internet and TV have a greater influence over people’s lives than politicians. Which do you consider to be the greater influence?

Skyscrapers are a feature of modern cities in the world. They provide much needed accommodation as both homes and businesses but some people feel that we should not build skyscrapers for safety and aesthetic reasons. I think these factors need to be taken into account when planning such buildings. Tall buildings can offer a solution to the problem of overcrowding that blights many of our cities today. They can accommodate large numbers of families in a relatively small area therefore allowing for other amenities such as parks and leisure facilities. Businesses can also take advantage of skyscrapers as it gives them the opportunity of having their premises located in the centre of a city ensuring that their employees can easily access their work. A final and not insignificant benefit of skyscrapers is that they can provide light and airy spaces for city living and working offering spectacular views of the city which can be beneficial to health and well-being. Despite these advantages, there are many people who object to this type of architecture saying that skyscrapers are dangerous, particularly in places where earthquakes occur. Another concern about tall buildings is the danger of people becoming socially isolated as it is more difficult to meet people than it would be at ground level and with a private garden. Moreover, this isolation can lead to further problems such as suicide risks or extra health costs. Finally people feel that the lack of green space afforded to the dwellers of high-rise flats is a distinct disadvantage, especially for children. Given our current rate of population growth world-wide, however, I believe that skyscrapers are a necessity rather than an option. Although such tall buildings have obvious disadvantages, if these are well managed then the benefits of this type of architecture far outweigh the dangers. I personally feel that, having considered the evidence, skyscrapers offer the best way of providing much needed accommodation in many of the world’s cities.