Reading fiction (such as novels and short stories) is more enjoyable than watching movies.

Some people prefer to read fiction. However, others like to watch movies. Personally, I think that the question whether reading fiction is more enjoyable than watching movies is a controversial one. For several reasons, which I will mention below, I think each of these options has its advantages. From the one side, reading fiction brings many benefits. First of all, a book can be taken anywhere one goes. For example, while travelling or just taking a bus one can read a book. When I was a student a couple years ago I used to read books while taking a boring lecture. Second of all, reading extends one's vocabulary, improves reading and even writing skills. Reading is essential for children. It extends their range of interests, improves their imagination and helps them gain more knowledge and experience through books. When I was a child my mom always made me read a lot of books. Thanks to her, I did not have a problem with writing different kinds of essays in the school and I got only high grades. From the other side, watching movies has many benefits too. Firstly, movies usually have more influence on people, their behaviour and mood. In addition, watching a movie in a movie theatre gives many advantages such as sound effects, a large screen, etc. Secondly, it is a good way to relax with one's friends, eliminate stress and tension and just have a good time. My husband and I like to watch a movie on Sunday evenings. We drink coffee, eat grapes or apples and make comments while watching the movie. In addition to these benefits, watching movie takes less time than reading the whole book in most of the cases. In conclusion, I think that there is no doubt that watching a movie is more enjoyable and impressive than reading a book. However, reading a book brings more benefits for people in general. Moreover, children should spend more time reading books than watching different kinds of movies because scientists say that watching movies has much less use for the growing child.