Question: Do you prefer a friend who is similar to you or different from you? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Incremental sales of familiar consumer products point towards the strength of advertising rather than the actual requirement of the society. In my opinion, people are carried away by the advert which results in increased sales of consumer goods. On the one hand, people buy products based on the information that they gather from an advert and overlook the usefulness of the product. Due to this trend, companies are selling more and more. In such cases, a massive publicity campaign drives the selling power. For example, sales of a protein powder increased exponentially during the last 3 years, from 2016 to 2019, as a result of massive advertising program acted by Tiger woods. People bought the product because it was endorsed by a famous celebrity and never reviewed the usefulness of the product before purchasing. On the other hand, certain consumer goods have increasing sales as they are the necessity of humans. These materials do not have any kind of publicity. Rather, People buy the products as it is a daily requirement, and nobody needs to drive the people in buying it. Toothpaste, for instance, had an amazing increase in sales despite no advertising. This shows that people review and buy their products after the careful distinction between need and luxury. In conclusion, it can be seen that people are primarily, driven by advertisements which result in increased sales of consumer goods because a celebrity has endorsed the product or information gathered directly from the advert. However, there are a few people who buy goods only based on need and do not rely on any sorts of advertisement.