Question: It is more important to set realistic goals than ambitious goals. Use specific reasons and examples to support your response.

Although some people tend to believe that it is better to set ambitious goal, I am prone to think that setting realistic goals is more reasonable. The reasons for my opinion will be discussed in details below. My position is based on my own experience. Once you are sure that your goal is achievable you can design a plan which will organize your actions. For instance, after I gave up smoking, I got excessive weight, in fact I used to weigh 71, 5 kilograms but after the change my mass increased up to 116 kilograms. I set a realistic goal to lose within three months 12 kilograms. In order to achieve this result, I created a detailed plan which was a guideline for me. I counted how many calories I ought to consume per day and how many of them I should spend in a gym. The goal was achieved. However, I am sure that The second reason to set realistic goals is motivation. If you have an achievable goal, the first positive results which you get will motivate you to continue. To support this idea, I might return to my previous example, after I lost my first 3 kilograms, my spirit was up and my motivation was growing with each lost kilogram. Interestingly, then more kilos I lost, then harder and stubbornly I worked with my body. I am completely sure that if a goal had been ambiguous, for instance, I wanted to lose 35 kilograms at once, I, would not have achieved the result and probably I would have given up the idea. Finally, I think that setting unrealistic or ambiguous goals is not only often useless but might be harmful. Once, when I was a student at university, I decided to write a research for psychology within unreasonably short time – two days. Because the goal was too ambiguous, I could not create a plan which I might use, as a result, my sprit fall as well as my motivation. The research was not written in time and I got a negative score. At the same time, I dare aver that if I set a realistic goal, for instance, I requested two weeks, the result would have achieved and my mark would have been high. In conclusion, my own life experience suggests that having in mind realistic and achievable goals is more beneficial because it allows developing a plan and creates motivation which feed person’s desire to work harder.