Question: It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has been a difference of opinion regarding the belief that equal quantities of students of each gender should be included in every course of universities. In my opinion, I disagree with this view First of all, having policies to encourage the same number of men and women in every subject is simply unrealistic. In this way, if a university decided to regulate programs with the same number of genders it would create huge problems. In reality, there are several inclinations in courses and some of them are more popular among females or males, and it would not be practical to aim for identical proportions. For example, nursing is a career almost chosen by women, and without enough males` applications would be impossible to fill the empty spaces. Indeed, this same issue can be extended to similar situations causing delay and discontent between pupils. Apart from the practical concerns mentioned above, I also believe that it would be unfair to base admission to higher education courses on the sexes. Universities should continue selecting the best candidates according to their qualifications. In fact, both men and female have the same capacity and abilities to achieve any position, the only difference should be the number of hours spent in their preparation. Indeed, the persistence and hard work should be the determinant factors to achieve good grades and positions, and not the limitation and rejection in favour of other gender with fewer qualifications. By way of conclusion, I believe that it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.