Essay topics: TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your an

Fees for higher education are expensive and not affordable for everyone so, according to some, university should be free for all people regardless of their background. In my opinion, I agree that university education ought to be free as it will greatly benefit both individuals and society. A good reason to abolish university fees is that it gives people, whether they are rich or poor equal rights. At present, students from a poor background are prevented from entering university because they are unable to afford the fees. This excludes a large proportion of society and is discriminatory, which can be avoided by getting rid of tuition fees. Another point to consider is that having no fees at university means that students will no longer have to work at the same time as studying to cover their costs. For example, around ¾ of all students in the UK have to work either full-time or part-time while studying at university to pay their fees. Free higher education should, therefore, produce better results as students will be able to afford to apply themselves to their studies exclusively. Finally, free university education will benefit society in the long run, for the simple reason is that it will open up higher education to a wider section of the population. This will result in increasing the number of educated people. In other words, having a greater resource of skilled and knowledgeable professionals will bring greater rewards to society as a while. Moreover, it can bring more economic advantages to a country that shows itself to be prosperous and leading in various fields. In conclusion, free university is a must for any country that values equal rights and one that wishes to advance. The cost of free education will be recouped many times over by the benefit it brings