Qualities a person needs to be successful can’t be learnt in university or in similar academic institution.

In today's modern and competitive society, we need to equip ourselves with a huge fund of knowledge in order to achieve success. While I cannot deny that the understandings of university provides very rewarding, I agree with the statement that achieving success needs several qualities, a few of which cannot be learnt in academic institution. To begin with, individuals cannot become successful if they only have academic knowledge. Take for instance, those who graduated from universities with high results, but they couldn’t get a job because of their lack of experiences. For other examples, the successful researchers learn from their past examples, and the CEO of Microsoft – Bill Gates developed leadership qualities from experience, … The insights provided by the universities are focus on theoretical issues which hardly come in real life. Therefore, there are some practical skills which are essential to succeed, but can’t be learned in school. We can see that the skills which they have to become successful in their fields are not from the scholastic foundation. On the other hand, many people can become successful without going to colleges. As we all know Michael Dell who is the founder of Dell left school at 19. But what is more shocking is he started his computer company in his college dorm room, he had worked very hard, and he also had to use up his savings and expenses, even his family’s loan to maintain his progress and to get the results he has now. For those who aspire to succeed in sports or entertainment, the natural abilities and luck accounted for a large proportion. If you are invited to be a guest from the reality show for example, it is possible for you to be well known and from that you will become more famous. Moreover, the truth is that business people who have inborn intelligence and also hard work will lead to their achievement. To sum up, it is absolutely wrong to affirm that one’s prosperity completely depends on their academic education. To be successful, not only do we need to improve our real life skills but also the characteristics of a the prosperous person.