Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news.

It is said that despite the increase in online news popularity, most people will choose newspapers as the most important source of news. I strongly disagree because of accessibility and environmental issues. Online news is far easier to access than newspapers. Thanks to the internet, by owning a smart phone or a laptop and a clicking on a few links, one can have access to the news in a split second, or receive it through email daily, whereas they had to waste a lot of time walking or driving to one of the limited number of newsstand in the city every day in hot summers or freezing winters. So the internet provided us with news far easier and faster than before. Moreover, following news on the net is more environmentally friendly than reading newspapers. Annually, a great number of the trees is cut to produce paper for newspaper publication. The less the newspapers are read and subsequently published, the fewer number of trees is cut for such purposes. So more forests are protected which is an environmentally friendly measure. On the other hand, some believe that the newspapers are more reliable than online news. The news published in a newspaper is acknowledged by some professionals at newspaper office before publication, while there are a significant number of false messages and rumours on the internet which confuses people. So people can trust the accuracy of the news in newspapers compared to online news. However, it is suggested that individuals with reliability concerns can read the news from trusted sources like some channels and websites and ignore the news without citation. In conclusion, in spite of the long history of newspaper popularity, I believe that it will be replaced by online news for the majority of people as the most important source of news because of availability and environmental considerations.