q4. Natural selection. Explain the significance of the Peppered Moth in relation to natural selection.

The admission in the science field has declined as a maximum number of learners are not opting for these subjects at the university level. This situation has occurred because it is quite difficult and requires more time to complete a degree in the stream, and due to this there is a lack of science professionals. To commence with, the maximum students are not choosing science subjects because it is quite hard to do graduation in this stream because there are technical terminologies as well as higher mathematics in it, which makes the former tough. Therefore, there are a lot of efforts and hard work is required to complete it. Moreover, this degree is more costly as compared with others as it takes more time and requires research work to complete it. For example, in a recent survey conducted by Delhi University, it is found that more than sixty percent of students do not choose the science field because of its difficulty level and time duration, which is four years whereas in other fields, such as commerce and arts is of three years. Hence, they opt for the arts and commerce stream instead of science. However, it has a negative impact on the growth of the nation because there could be a lack of professionals in the science field if the learners do not choose it. Due to this, fewer researches will be conducted in this field, and consequently, it not only affects the development of the technology but also the growth of the nation. For instance, there is a lack of scientists in India because admissions in the technical field are only 20 percent. As a consequence, they do only 50 studies per year, whereas other countries conduct 100 studies per annum. If it is compared with the nations, it is half of their researches. Thereby it affected the nation’s growth. To summarize, the degree in science stream is very difficult, and it takes more years to complete it. Therefore the enrolment has fallen and eventually, it affected the overall growth of the countries.