q2. A university has recently received a large sum of money. The university desperately needs to improve housing on campus, but students have also complained that the library needs to be fixed. Do you think the money should be spent on housing or the libr

Advancement in technology should be for the benefit of a common man. Science’s advancement in space doesn’t bring doles to the general public. Many governments around the world are spending billions to study space and find lives on other planets. Whereas, many basic issues of people living on earth are ignored. I strongly agree that funds should be used by governments to benefit people and in this essay, I will discuss my point of view that why spending for the people living in this world is more important. Discovering space, learning about other planets and stars can be interesting and as a result, this may increase the knowledge of the general public about our neighbouring planets. Recently, Indian government launched its satellite called Chandrayan into space and the whole project costed around 38% of the country’s annual budget. However, spending billions of dollars on space projects is not sensible because the result of such projects brings small achievements, for instance, discovering water on Mars and Moon. Currently, India’s 35% population lives below standard life, for example, living in sub-standard huts and begging money for basic needs such as foods and clothes. Funds, which were spent on studying other planets, would have been used for the betterment of the general public. Income distribution among people around the world is uneven. Some people walk miles to earn food while others walk miles to digest it. It is government’s responsibility to work and spend on the welfare of the general public, for example, more funds can be allocated to building welfare schools and hospitals. To conclude, advancing in technology and spending on research in space is not wrong, but allocating a big chunk of money on unnecessary things where expense is greater than the benefit and ignoring primary duties, is not sensible and the government should use the funds to improve the overall life standard of its people.