Q1f you have a chance to give a lesson in an elementary school, what topic would you like to teach; How to protect the environment, how to grow plants, or how to cook simple and healthy food?

It is argued that governments are wasting their resources by paying for the preservation of arts and that they would be better off spending the funds on public sectors. While it is crucial to increase spending on public services such as education or transportation, governments should not cut all their expenses on the arts. On the one hand, improving public services is crucial for the development of a country. For example, when the funds are utilised for traffic projects like road maintenance or public transportation, the number of traffic accidents will reduce, and people can plan their trips better around the city thanks to frequent bus and train services. Furthermore, with sufficient funding, the authorities can keep public workers happy and avoid their going on strikes. Imagine all teachers in a city stop teaching for a day to protest against low wages. It would lead to classes being cancelled, and parents having to stay home to look after their schoolchildren. That would be a very troublesome / difficult situation for families and offices alike. On the other hand, it is equally important to spend on the arts. If the officials decided to stop spending on music and theatre, it would be a serious mistake and could result in the loss of national identity. We all know that arts and culture are interrelated. If a country does not emphasize on preserving the arts, the cultural aspects associated with traditional music and theatre will gradually disappear. The nation will in turn lose their cultural uniqueness, which is of great importance for tourism. If travellers find nothing extraordinary about a culture, it is less likely that they will make that country their desired destination. In conclusion, I am against the idea of governments cutting all investment in arts to spend on public services. The authorities should balance their spending between these two sectors so public services can operate smoothly and at the same time cultural diversity and uniqueness can be maintained.